It Begins…

Today…I quit my job. Yes. I’m sitting at home, I should be packing up my things, but I’m sitting at home thinking. Fuck…I quit my job. Really i think I’ll be fine…in a few weeks (God willing), but, I’ve got a few weeks of “WTF did I do?” and “WTF am I going to do?” ahead of me.

I guess I just had to give myself a bit of a shove. I think we all need it now and again, but I’m a big guy, so the shove maybe has to have a bit more energy behind it before it nudges me. Nothing like being broke, hungry and living in a strange new city to give you just that. So with that being said…here I go.

This has been a really long time coming if you didn’t know. I first had the idea to move to Austin, cause I fell in love with the city many years ago. As time has progressed, I’ve discovered it wasn’t specifically Austin that I was in love with, as much as I love change. I want to see other parts of the world and see what its like to live in other parts of the world. Five years ago, I almost did move to Austin. I stayed for a guy. He would have come with me, but I thought it might be best if we stayed in SF and started a relationship. Well…I’m single and still here, which presents a problem. I don’t want to be either.

I’m not sure exactly when Chicago started to have appeal to me. It never did before. Maybe its everyone who visits and says how amazing it is. Maybe it’s the fact that my dad is freaked out that I’m going cause its so far away and it snow there. Maybe I want to live in snow. Maybe I’ll hate it. Maybe I’ll turn right back around and come home (take your bets people, I know there is a pool out there). Maybe not.

10 Years ago, my mom stuck me on a plane bound for Florence Italy. I was a small town 20 year old and I was sent across the world against my will. Well…I didn’t realize I didn’t want to go until it was time to actually leave. I screamed at my mom, told her I didnt want to go and she was horrible for making me and left the country in a huff. Over the next month, I learned a new language, made some amazing friends and returned…full of vigor. It was the moment I realized I had to get out of Davenport. Not because there is anything wrong with it, but because my curiosity started to get the best of me. So off I went. I haven’t made it very far, but I’ve come a LONG way since I was that small town kid. Sometimes I still feel like I am that kid, especially with this move coming up. But…if I hadn’t taken the leap then…I wouldn’t be where I am now.

So with excitement and anxiety nipping at my heels. I’m packing up my few belongings in SF and hitting the road…in about at a week at least.

20110701-090153.jpg

Leave a Reply

